RIP David Bowie

Talk about the latest movies and video releases here!
mkaroly

RIP David Bowie

#1 Post by mkaroly »

So I have been thinking a lot about his death the past couple of days; as a musician, I think the thing that was most unique about him was that every album was different - you never knew what to expect with the next one. He was incredibly eclectic, esoteric, and any number of other things, but in the end he was entertaining as heck and will miss the anticipation and excitement of a new album release. I had just finished listening to his new album (BLACKSTAR) and then a few hours later I found out he was dead...wow...and Keith Richards is still somehow alive! Lol...

I have not seen many movies with him in it; the two that are most memorable for me were LABRYNTH and his turn as Nikola Tesla in THE PRESTIGE. I never saw THE MAN WHO FELL TO EARTH or MERRY CHRISTMAS MR. LAWRENCE but kind of want to now!

RIP David Bowie.

AndyDursin

Re: RIP David Bowie

#2 Post by AndyDursin »

Bowie was obviously a very unique and singular talent. These days that is hard to come by...needless to say.

I have to be honest -- I'm not into his music, so it's hard for me to really have an appreciation of it. I found some of it weird and not very appealing -- to me -- but there are obviously some songs that were easy for anyone to embrace. I understand what you are saying Michael about his presence and energy on-stage...those are things only a few artists have going for them.

As an actor, I've seen LABYRINTH -- and I always thought it was weird this older, vaguely bi-sexual "Goblin King" was coming on to a teenage Jennifer Connelly (lol) -- and MERRY CHRISTMAS, MR. LAWRENCE...plus THE HUNGER and THE MAN WHO FELL TO EARTH. A weird and eclectic filmography as unique as his music.

RIP. And I'll always remember this -- as I think many of us will!

mkaroly

#3 Post by mkaroly »